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Increasing web sales through Conversion Rate Optimisation

If you could increase the number of enquiries or sales from your existing website visitors – wouldn’t you?

That’s the purpose of CRO (Conversion Rate Optimisation). We turn more of your visitors into sales through our years of experience, scientific testing and industry-leading design.

What’s the power of Conversion Rate Optimisation?

A lower cost-per-sale for every future marketing campaign

In simple terms, a website with a strong conversion rate will increase profit, reduce marketing spend and enable faster growth.

Here’s a realistic monetary example: If you spend £100 to get 100 visitors to your website, and you turn 2 of those visitors into a sale (a 2% conversion rate), then your cost-per-sale is £50.

If we got your website to convert at 4%, that would give you double the sales for the same spend. Your cost-per-sale goes down to £25. In principle, this is very simple, obvious and hugely powerful.

More leads and sales from your website visitors

If you are investing in marketing to bring people to your website then it is in your best interest to ensure that as many of those visitors turn into customers as possible.

By improving your website’s conversion rate, you are able to dramatically increase the performance of your brand, traffic & all future marketing campaigns.

Your conversion rate can be influenced by your website content, design, structure and many other moving parts.

What makes up successful Conversion Rate Optimisation

An effective & powerful user journey

Stop thinking about making instant sales. Start thinking about helping people to make a decision. By creating a full, easy & valuable journey, you will help more visitors understand who you are, what you offer, and if you are the right fit for them.

Too many businesses think the user journey is “run advert, send them to a landing page and then they will buy”. This is not the most effective way of generating new business as most users aren’t ready to make a purchase yet.

Most visitors will want more information, to view similar products/services, to learn more about who you are and to view past work/reviews/feedback.

You should view the purpose of every page as; “How can I build a full picture in their head, and where-else might a visitor need to go before deciding to buy/get in touch”.

Content, and how you communicate

The content on your website is your part of a conversation with your visitors. Often, conversion rates can be significantly increased by simply changing what is contained within this conversation.

Are you just saying the bare minimum, or are you providing lots of value? Are you using lots of industry technical language that might alienate your users?

Don’t be afraid to speak plainly and break down complicated topics. Communicate clearly and you will see an overall improvement in your conversions.

Reputation, credibility & trust

You can’t just expect your users to believe everything you are saying, simply because you are saying it. You have to provide evidence of your reputation and credibility.

This can be done in a number of ways; from reviews & testimonials, to case studies and displaying past clients/customers.

You can also build trust by demonstrating your knowledge, by showing awards or accreditations or, in many cases, just a simple video showing that what you do works.

The key point is this; you have to build trust with your users before they become customers, and this starts with your website.

Human psychology in web design and marketing

The thing with conversion is it’s like body language, in that so much communication is done without you realising it.

There are lots of subtle tricks to do with content, journey, structure & design to increase conversion.

These can include visual cues to draw people down a page, using size, scale and colour to pull attention to key areas, or even removing busy/cluttered areas to allow key information to sink in.

We know how to create this unconscious conversation and use it to your benefit and success.

User Experience

All in all, high conversion rates are about influencing the experience that your website offers for your users.

You have to think about your website as more than just a thing that you have to have. Try to view it as a legitimate solution for your customers.

Everything has to be clear, simple and easy, both to use as well as to understand.

We are exceptional at improving our clients conversion rates, and we’re here to help you with yours too.

Our process to get you the best conversion rate, in the shortest time

1 External research

Your website is a solution to your customers/visitors, and as such, the starting point for any CRO campaign is understanding what they want, need & are looking for.

Our industry-leading technique for external market research finds out all of these answers, and these answers take form as the user journey, the type of experience you need to offer, the content on the pages (how much, what it says & the tone of voice), as well as many other parts.

You’ll get a much higher conversion rate far faster by making positive changes off of what people actually want/need, instead of what you want them to want/need.

2 Internal analysis

The next big step is looking through what you currently have. This isn’t just about the look & feel, but also the data you have that supports high or low performing pages.

Don’t make decisions purely based on what you personally like. Positive changes to improve your conversion rate come from how your users are performing on your website, and that comes from your Google Analytics data, CMS reporting, sales data and even organic ranking.

Can you understand the stories that your internal data is saying? We work out what’s actually doing well vs what’s falling behind.

3 Create a plan

We combine the external research, internal analysis and manually check your site with our specialist CRO & design team, and come up with a solid plan.

It is here that our teams start to balance the science behind what needs to be changed with beautiful design that elevates your brand.

We don’t just make changes that work. We make changes that look incredible too.

4 Design, build & update

We fully design all of the changes, get your approval, and then build them.

Our design team gets fully underway with brining the plan to life, our development team starts putting them into place and our data & marketing team put all the tracking in place to monitor the results.

All of our teams are full of exceptionally talented professionals who thrive off of getting you results.

5 Track results

We monitor the results of our changes and adjust the ongoing plan based on the learnings.

This is the exciting bit for us. We love getting the data in to see how powerful our conversion rate optimisation changes have been for your website.

We use this data to quantify the changes that we made, what made a bigger impact than we thought, what didn’t, and from these insights, we can create further tests to continually push your conversion rate to new heights.

We want to push your results to the highest point possible.

Results from our process

Children of London

CRO & Facebook Ads

+320%
Conversion rate
+205%
Session duration
Palmers

CRO & Google Ads

+108%
Increase in leads
-36.1%
Cost per lead

What our clients think

Children of London
Managing Director

Children of London

“Working with Red Balloon has been an absolute pleasure. They were incredibly efficient, approachable and professional throughout the process and we couldn’t be more pleased with the results. They have exceeded our expectations and we look forward to working with them in the future.“

Papa John's UK
International Digital Marketing Manager

Papa John's UK

“We’ve commissioned Red Balloon to do a number of websites for us. All have surpassed expectations both in functionality and design, and they’ve come up with innovating ideas and solutions to our problems.”

We work with some amazing clients

We're proud to support a wide range of businesses including small and local to large international. We align ourselves with your objectives and drive results.

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